Almond Amaretto Cupcakes

Almond Amaretto CupcakesHappy Valentine’s Day on March 2nd, everyone! Life got really busy for a while and these cupcakes didn’t happen until last week. I actually gave a presentation at Emory University last weekend and it was a great opportunity. But, let me tell you, you don’t want to be finishing your powerpoint presentation at 4 AM with your speech at 9 AM. It felt like this:

And the only time I won’t freak out before a speech is when I’m in my coffin getting ready to meet Jesus. Luckily, I’m really good at looking collected. But on the inside. . . I’m hyperventilating and likely hopped up on adrenaline, lack of sleep, and caffeine.

But! Everything went great and people asked questions after and I just generally didn’t feel like an idiot. So winning all around! Anyway, because of all that, there weren’t Valentine’s desserts for my friends until today. And because almond is a completely underrated flavor, I decided to go with almond cupcakes sweetened with yummy amaretto.

Almond Amaretto CupcakesNow, if your knowledge of liquor is as extensive as my own (none), you don’t know what the heck amaretto is or which one to buy. Well, I didn’t either, and I’m practically positive I got the most expensive kind possible. Amaretto is an Italian almond flavored liqueur (see, it’s fancy because it has an ‘eu’ and not an ‘o’), and I ended up buying Disaronno. I’m sure there’s a generic kind floating out there somewhere, so avoid dropping 25 bucks if you can. Plus, this stuff is really too sweet for me to drink by itself, so don’t spend too much.

That being said, these may be my favorite flavor of cupcakes I’ve made so far. Of course, since I live on a dry campus, these were most definitely made off campus. . . most definitely. Now when you bake them, they’re really delicate, so you’re gonna want to be careful with them. Also, I felt these cupcakes needed lots of frosting, so the recipe makes quite a bit, but if that’s not something you’re interested in, feel free to halve the recipe.

Almond Amaretto Cupcakes

Almond Amaretto Cupcakes

Yield: ~18 Cupcakes     Prep Time: 20 Minutes     Cooktime: 14-17 Minutes

Based on this recipe.

Cake Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups packed brown sugar (60 grams)
  • 1 cup white sugar (225 g)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (250 g)
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (2.35 fl oz or 70 g)
  • 1/4 cup Amaretto (2 fl oz or 55 g)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/3 cup slivered almonds

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each.
  3. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add to the creamed mixture alternately with buttermilk and Amaretto, beating well after each addition.
  4. Stir in almonds. Batter will be really thick.
  5. Fill paper-lined muffins cups two-thirds full. Bake at 375° for 14-17 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.

Amaretto Frosting Ingredients:

  • 6 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 6 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
  • 4 tablespoons amaretto

Directions:

  1. Cream together butter and sugar until frosting takes on a sandy texture.
  2. Add in half of the whipping cream and half of the amaretto.
  3. Mix well. Add in remaining liquids.
  4. Frost cupcakes.

 

One thought on “Almond Amaretto Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

