Double Layer Chocolate Cake
comment 0

Double Chocolate Layered Cake

So I finally made a layer cake you guys.

Image

Oh, and also a food blog. Surprise!

I went with chocolate because everyone likes chocolate. Well, I’m not crazy about chocolate. I actually prefer vanilla in almost everything. It’s not something I usually tell people, because if I do, their reactions usually go something like this:

So I usually keep that information to myself. But on the inside, vanilla and I are best friends.

Just to clarify what Vanilla I’m talking about. Anyway, I think most people completely underestimate how difficult these things are. The mixing part is fine, but the difficulty comes in when you try to get the cake from the pan. Good cakes are moist but moist cakes also stick to the pan. Then when I finally gently pry this cake from this pan, I’m standing there with this cake in my hands trying to figure out how to stick them together, because you need the bottom of the cake to now be the top of the cake.

After some careful deliberation, frustration, and desperation, you end up with this:

Image

Photos courtesy of my roommate Scott, mostly because I can’t even correctly use my camera phone and she’s like, a real life photographer.

The recipe is below, guys, go make chocolate cake. I’m releasing my culinary secrets to you!

Double Chocolate Layered Cake (based upon Black Magic Cake and frosting from Whipped Chocolate Buttercreamprint-button-png-hi (1)

PREP TIME: 10 minutes      COOK TIME: 40 minutes     TOTAL TIME: 50 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup Unsweetened Cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk or sour milk (sour milk = 1 tbsp. vinegar + 1 cup milk)
  • 1 cup strong black coffee OR 2 teaspoons powdered instant coffee plus 1 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans or one 13x9x2-inch baking pan.
  2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes (batter will be thin).
  3. Pour batter evenly into prepared pans.
  4. Bake 30 to 35 minutes for round pans, 35 to 40 minutes for rectangular pan or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. (This toothpick tip is important if you’re unsure how your oven bakes!)
  5. Cool at least 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. (I cooled mine on racks overnight.)

Whipped Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 3 (1 1/2 cups) sticks salted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3-4 tablespoons heavy whipping cream

Directions:

  1. Add the butter and powdered sugar to the bowl to be mixed. Beat the butter and powdered sugar together until the butter is light and fluffy, about 4 minutes.
  2. Add the cocoa powder and vanilla and beat, scraping down the sides as needed another 2 minutes or until there are no streaks of white.
  3. Add 3 tablespoons of the heavy cream and whip the frosting for 2-4 minutes or until light and fluffy. Then add remaining tablespoon and continue whipping.
  4. Frost cake to your heart’s desire.
Leave a Reply

